Engines of God

Engines of God

The first Priscilla Hutchins novel from Jack McDevitt, hailed by Stephen King as “the logical heir to Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke.”

Humans call them the Monument-Makers. An unknown race, they left stunning alien statues on distant planets in the galaxy. Each relic is different. Each inscription defies translation. Yet all are heartbreakingly beautiful.

And for planet Earth, on the brink of disaster, they may hold the only key to survival for the entire human race.


Order Now!
About the Book

Two hundred years ago, humans made a stunning discovery in the far reaches of the solar system: a huge statue of an alien creature, with an inscription that defied all efforts at translation. Now, as faster-than-light drive opens the stars to exploration, humans are finding other relics of the race they call the Monument-Makers – each different, and each heartbreakingly beautiful. But except for a set of footprints on Jupiter’s moon Iapetus, there is no trace of the enigmatic race that has left them behind. Then a team of scientists working on a dead world discover an ominous new image of the Monument-Makers. Somehow it all fits with other lost civilizations, and possibly with Earth’s own future. And distant past. But Earth itself is on the brink of ecological disaster – there is no time to search for answers. Even to a question that may hold the key to survival for the entire human race…

Authors: , ,
Series: Jack McDevitt Series, The Academy Series, Book 1
Genres: Fiction, Sci-Fi, Space Opera
Tags: Academy, Future, Futuristic, Pricilla Hutchins, Recommended Books, Sci-fi, Science Fiction, Space, Space Travel, Spaceship
Publisher: Ace
Publication Year: 1995
Format: Hardback, Paperback, E-Book, Audiobook
Length: 419 pages
ISBN: 9780441002849

List Price: $7.99
eBook Price: $3.99
Audiobook Price: $11.99
Order Now
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Apple Books
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Barnes and Noble Nook
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from GoodReads
Buy from Google Play
Buy from Kobo
Other Books in "The Academy Series"
Find A Local Bookstore